San Cristobal Island

 

 

The name of San Cristóbal island is due to the patron saint of sailors, named after the year 1973. Its historical name is Chatham, the same that was assigned by Captain James Colnett, who named it in honor of William Pitt, First Count of Chatham.

As part of the tangible and intangible cultural heritage of the islands, we must mention historical events such as the beginning of colonization in 1866 when the Ecuadorian Manuel J. Cobos, aboard two boats called Julian and Josefina Cobos disembarked in Bahia Naufragio with a group of 10 workers to start the installation of a sugar mill called the “Hacienda El Progreso”, a company that for 25 years, from 1879 to 1904 was the economic engine of the island. The ruins are located at the entrance of the town of the same name. And, the creation of the fishing society “La Predial” that during the years 1952 to 1960 intended to develop fishing on an industrial scale.